Brittany is a peninsula in northwestern France, bounded on the north by the English Channel and south of the Bay of Biscay. Brittany is also a French region-wide departments of Côtes d’Armor, Finistère, Ille-et-Vilaine and Morbihan. Today’s main town is Rennes, but historically Nantes has been the capital of Brittany.

Our destiantions in Bretagne

More about Bretagne

Brittany is also a historic landscape, where the Celtic Breton language is spoken by an endemic minority. Department of Loire-Atlantique (including Nantes) has historically belonged to Brittany but is now part of the region Pays de la Loire. A movement exists, however, that seems to Loire-Atlantique to be reunited with Brittany.