Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur is a region in southeastern France, on the Ligurian Sea. To this region belong the historical landscape Provence, Avignon and the Papal State Comtat Venaissin, and the French Riviera. Regions The capital is Marseille. Because of his long name it is often called the PACA by Frenchmen. The name refers to Provence, the Alps and the Cote d’Azur.

Our destiantions in Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur

More about Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur

The region stretches from Italy to the east of the Riviera to the Languedoc-Roussillon region in the west. The northern part bordering the Rhone-Alpes. Nestled in the east near the border with Italy, the Principality of Monaco. In the area there are two large lakes, Etang de Vaccarès and Etang de Berre. The region’s largest cities, Marseille, Nice, Toulon and Aix-en-Provence, each with over 100 000 inhabitants according to 1999 census. Other important cities are Antibes (including Juan-les-Pins), Arles, Aubagne, Avignon, Cagnes-sur-Mer, Cannes, Frejus, Grasse, Hyères, La Seyne-sur-Mer, Le Cannet, Marseille, Nice and Orange.